Books in the media

Fun Facts About Alice Munro – And Why You Should Be a Fan

Alice Munro, Canadian short story writer extraordinaire, was given the book world’s greatest honour in the form of the 2013 Nobel Prize for Literature. The lady just seems so down-to-earth, full of humility and class. Here are a few fun things about Munro and her award that just may make you love her even more. […]

That moment we all fell in love with Darcy – now in Statue Form!

Remember that amazing scene  in Pride and Prejudice where Mr. Darcy  takes a dip in the lake by his country mansion, only to be surprised by running into Elizabeth Bennett, who is flustered at the sight of his handsome, dripping body? No? Well, that scene wasn’t actually written by Austen; just a cleverly-placed alteration in Andrew […]

Casually Designed

I was, am, and indefinitely will be a Harry Potter fan. These stories were a huge part of my growing-up years; I read the first book when I was 11, the same age as Harry. I still love the characters and the world that Rowling created, and all of the awesome names she came up […]

Jonathan Strange and Downton Abbey

Potentially good news (maybe) for fans of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell! A film adaptation is apparently in the works. Or was. Is? Potentially good news for Downton Abbey fans…Julian Fellowes, the screenwriter, is also working on a film script. …as luck would have it, they are one and the same. Fellowes has […]