Tag Archive | Harry Potter

November, November…

The stretch of time between Halloween and mid-December – when the anticipation of Christmas will kick in and all will be brightly lit and well – is the dreariest time of  year. The leaves fall off leaving bare brown skeletons, it rains, it snows, it’s dull. There are also no holidays to look forward to […]

It’s all in the names

Graceling – Kristin Cashore, Harcourt, 2008, 480 pages Finished August 2012 Here we have yet another adventurous, slightly fantastical piece of young adult fiction with a strong female character, some romance, and lots of evil plotting that must be overcome. In a kingdom where some people are “graced” with special gifts or powers, Katsa bears […]

Casually Designed

I was, am, and indefinitely will be a Harry Potter fan. These stories were a huge part of my growing-up years; I read the first book when I was 11, the same age as Harry. I still love the characters and the world that Rowling created, and all of the awesome names she came up […]

Jonathan Strange and Downton Abbey

Potentially good news (maybe) for fans of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell! A film adaptation is apparently in the works. Or was. Is? Potentially good news for Downton Abbey fans…Julian Fellowes, the screenwriter, is also working on a film script. …as luck would have it, they are one and the same. Fellowes has […]

What’s up with the Mockingjay?

Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins, 2010 Finished May 21, 2012 Some books, no matter how suspenseful, I read slowly to make them last. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, for instance. I knew its end marked the finite limits of Harry, Ron, and Hermione’s world. I suppose there’s Pottermore, but it’s not the same as having another […]